New makeup brush cleaning routine

18 Dec

how to inexpensively clean your makeup brushes

I was up all night getting sucked into youtube videos last night and came across the adorable Michelle Phan, so I adopted one of her brush cleaning ideas.

how to inexpensively clean your makeup brushes

I begin by pouring dish soap (I was out of disinfecting dish soap, which is what is supposed to be used) and extra virgin olive oil onto a plate/dish.

Why these two products? The dish soap disinfects your brushes, which a lot of brush cleaners don’t do. But this can strip the brush of essential oils, so the EVOO puts that back into the bristles. So smart.

how to inexpensively clean your makeup brushes

Disinfecting Dish Soap & Extra Virgin Olive Oil

how to inexpensively clean your makeup brushes

Gently rub your brush in the mixture and brush back and forth on your hand, creating a lather.

how to inexpensively clean your makeup brushes

Rinse in lukewarm water DOWNWARD. Never put your brush under the water facing upward, the water will soak into the brush and loosen the glue that holds your bristles in place. Resulting in shedding and a useless brush.

Continue rubbing on your palm and rinsing under water and gently squeezing out water until water runs clear.

how to clean your makeup brushes

Look how clean! (refer to first pre-clean photo)

how to dry your makeup brushes

After the initial wash, I gently rub my brush on a towel to remove excess water before letting them sit.

I use a pretty simple method to dry my brushes, I just fold up a towel to let the brushes lay on a descending angle, letting the water fall into the towel, rather than soak into the handle.
_____________________________________

I have about 60 brushes so I try to keep track of the ones I use so I dont end up washing clean ones, which could take forever. I personally don’t enjoy washing my brushes, but the payoff when you see all that crap running down the drain makes it all worth it.

Do you have any tips/tricks to cleaning your brushes?

2 Responses to “New makeup brush cleaning routine”

  1. pearlsandparis December 18, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    great idea, def. going to try cleaning my brushes this way

    • burgesslinds December 19, 2012 at 7:42 am #

      It got my brushes extremely clean and soft, plus it’s so inexpensive!

Leave a Reply

