Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe Review/Swatch + Bonus Deal at Walgreens!

20 Dec

So I went to Walgreens yesterday to pick up a few things and use some rewards, here is what I ended up with:Walgreens Haul

Revlon Grow Luscious Lash Liner (haven’t tried it out yet)
Neutrogena 3-in-1 concealer for eyes
London SOHO brushes (I’ve used the crease brush and I really like it so far, the bristles are nice, and it was on clearance for $4.99!)
Maybelline Cover Stick Corrector Concealer
Maybelline Super Stay Makeup in Nude & Natural Beige

Maybelline Color Tatto Tough as Taupe Swatch

I was excited to try the Maybelline Color Tattoo that I purchased in Tough as Taupe, you can see above that it is a pretty matte color, and could potentially be hard to wear alone. So I tested it out with some other taupe-like shadows…

First I grabbed my Urban Decay Eye Shadow Insurance Policy Palette:Urban Decay Glamazon with Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe

The left is the Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe alone, the right is Urban Decay Glamazon alone, and the middle is Glamazon applied over Tough as Taupe. It’s sooooo pretty and vibrant.

So I had to try another, a more matte shade:

Coastal Scents and Maybelline Tough as Taupe


Coastal Scents brown shade & Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe

The right two are the same as above, the far left is a brown shade in my Coastal Scents 88 Color Palette (which I highly recommend) and the next is that same shade over Tough as Taupe. This one wasn’t as exciting, but it showcases how much more vibrant these color tattoo shades can make shadows.

Lastly, I grabbed my Wet n Wild single eyeshadow in Nutty:

Wet n Wild in Nutty and Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe


Left: Wet n Wild in Nutty | Right: Nutty placed over Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe

Again, it made the shimmery shade much more vibrant, and gave it a perfect base.

Overall, Color Tattoo – Tough as Taupe works really well as a base color, much like the MAC paint pots. If only they would make one to dupe MAC Paint Pot in Painterly.

This is definitely a keeper for me, and I’m looking forward to trying some of the other shades. After I swatched these I scrubbed my hands and the color tattoo marks barely budged.

Here is a quick swatch of the Maybelline Cover Stick Corrector Concealer, this is supposed to cover up redness and I approve of the packaging, in an easy-to-use stick. I’ve seen this used in youtube tutorials so I had to give it a shot.Maybelline Cover Stick Corrector Concealer

So after I got home and unloaded my supplies, I found this:

Walgreens Beauty Sample Box

I’d never heard about this, so I’m pretty interested to get this in the mail. Apparently when you make a beauty purchase of $30 or more at Walgreens you’ll receive this voucher with a code to claim your beauty box (until 2/14/13)

My options were Beauty Must Haves, Beauty Cravings, or Radient Skin. I went with Beauty Cravings because it seems to include both hair and makeup products. I’ll definitely be reviewing this when it comes within 4-6 weeks.

Have you tried any of the Maybelline Color Tattoo shades? If not, you should check them out!


Other notable beauty deals:

Click here for a free sample of L’oreal Paris’ new line
Print this for a free Clean Hair Care travel size at CVS
Check Cukoo’s site here to score two nearly free Clean Hair Care

I found a nice place for my Martha Stewart products mentioned in my review post here.

Martha Stewart Home Office

As always, feel free to leave any questions, requests or input!

4 Responses to “Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe Review/Swatch + Bonus Deal at Walgreens!”

  1. celine trapeze bag price london June 28, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “It is impossible to underrate human intelligence–beginning with one’s own.” by Henry Adams.

  2. SJ December 22, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Hey! I nominated you for the super sweet blog award c: http://sarahjaynebeauty.wordpress.com/2012/12/22/super-sweet-blog-award/
    xx

  3. maybellineny queen December 22, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    Reblogged this on Maybelline Queen.

Leave a Reply

