Strawberry Santa Claus

24 Dec

I made an attempt at a few things I’ve seen around the internet tonight, this one I am most proud oStrawberry Santa Claus

Can you find the fattest, saddest, looking Santa?

Lets rewind a bit..

Strawberry Santa Claus

I sliced off a tiny piece of the top of the strawberry (with the leaf) to make them sit flat (and used it as the bottom), then sliced off enough off the pointy end for the hat.Strawberry Santa Claus

I blended up one container of cream cheese (8 oz) and approx 4 tbsp of sugar and a dab of vanilla extract. I didn’t have all the fancy caster sugar or essence, but this was delicious anyhow. Then found this method of filling the piping tube to be most convenient when working alone.Strawberry Santa Claus

In some I cut a small divit in the strawberry so more filling could fit. plopped his hat on and added little buttons and a pom on his hat.Strawberry Santa Claus

For the eyes, I picked up brown sprinkles with a matchstick (with a bit of the cream mixture on the end so they stick to it easily) How cute are these?!

I’ve seen these made with just whipped cream but I would imagine that would fall flat too quickly. This mixture is thick and seems to hold well, I’ll report back in the morning if that’s not the case.

My sister and I aren’t exchanging gifts this year, but she’s hosting christmas, so I wanted to give her a little craft/drink. I discovered this idea/tutorial at Something Turquoise blog. It’s a Mason Jar Cookie Mix with a pre-made direction tag, thanks to Something Turquoise.

Mason Jar Cookie Mix

Mason Jar Cookie Mix

Merry Christmas, guys!

update: they still looked perfect for the party today. Success!

4 Responses to “Strawberry Santa Claus”

  1. now at home mom at home mom December 24, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    This are so cute! 🙂 the strawberry Santa Claus look delicious! 🙂 Wish you a Merry Christmas! 🙂

    • burgesslinds January 2, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

      Thank you, they were a lot of fun to make, too. I’m trying to figure out how to follow you but I’m not seeing a specific “follow” button on your page!

  2. Jen | Something Turquoise December 24, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Darling jars! So glad you enjoyed our tutorial!

    • burgesslinds January 2, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks for much for the inspiration and checking it out, you have a lot of awesome crafts on your blog. Somehow my brown sugar seemed like far less than yours pictured, but maybe it was the shape of the jar.

Leave a Reply

