Juicing with a Ninja Blender {grapefruit-apple-carrot juice}

1 Feb

I’m obviously on a smoothie kick, and I’m always jealous of everyone with their delicious juicing recipes. I have the Ninja Mega Kitchen 1500 which claims to be able to juice. After some research, and watching a few youtube videos, I gave ‘juicing in a blender with a cheesecloth’ a shot.

juicing with a ninja blender

What I used (aka what I had available)

  • one grapefruit – peeled
  • one apple – cored
  • two celery stalks (which proved to be one too many)
  • four asparagus spears (don’t ask)
  • two large carrots
  • a few romaine lettuce scraps (i’m all out of spinach and kale)
  • a cup of water
  • I forgot ice, so let’s add that here.

juicing with a ninja 1500juicing with a ninja 1500juicing with a ninja 1500 mega kitchen

after two quick pulses, everything is chopped

then I left it on button 3 ‘crush’…

juicing with a ninja 1500 mega kitchen

So the next step after blending everything was to cover the top of the blender with the cheese cloth or painter strainer bag and pour over a bowl, once the liquid stops draining dump the cheesecloth and remains into the bowl so you can pick them up to strain them in the cheesecloth by squeezing. The reason I missed photos on this step is because my cheesecloth was too short on one end and didn’t hold all of the contents, creating a mess. but I handled it and just had to scoop some out, and ended up with this..

juicing with a ninja mega kitchen 1500

Overall, the juice is tasty. It would have been much better with less celery and the addition of ice. I’ll definitely be trying this more often, and each time will probably bring me closer to purchasing an actual juicer.

In the meantime, if you have any delicious juicing recipes to share, I’d love to hear them and try them out!

One Response to “Juicing with a Ninja Blender {grapefruit-apple-carrot juice}”

  1. MikeJuicer February 1, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Absolutely love the recipe! I might even give this a try tomorrow after my trip to the market. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

