Chocolate Covered Strawberries for V-day

12 Feb

I’m no baker, but I’ve taken a big enjoyment in being in the kitchen and learning to cook lately. I literally knew nothing about cooking a year ago, and I mean nothing. I started from ground zero, I used to eat fast food three times a day or grab something out of the freezer and throw it in the microwave.

So today I attempted chocolate covered strawberries. Having too much time on my hands, I initially was going to order Edible Arrangements or something of the sort for my Valentine, but decided, “let’s give this a shot…”

Chocolate / Vanilla Covered Strawberries:

Chocolate Covered Strawberries Tutorial

I wasn’t sure if these “Candy Melts” were just more of a marketing ploy, and basically the same and just buying chocolates, but I decided to try one of each. I will totally go with the Candy Melts next time, they hardened up way faster than the chocolate chips, and were just a lot easier to work with.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries Tutorial

Microwave the chips for 1 minute, then stir every 30 seconds. nom nom.Ā Vanilla Covered Strawberries Tutorial

Dip the strawberries into the chocolate, simple as that…
The stems on my strawberries kept breaking off and that proved to be quite a hassle, but I worked through it šŸ˜‰

Vanilla/Chocolate Covered Strawberries Tutorial

I added some shredded coconut, sprinkles, or a drizzle of the opposite chocolate, keeping with the pink/v-day theme:Chocolate Covered Strawberries TutorialChocolate Covered Strawberries TutorialChocolate Covered Strawberries TutorialChocolate Covered Strawberries Tutorial

Chocolate Covered Strawberries Tutorial

Chocolate Covered Strawberries TutorialImage

These were a lot of fun to make and much easier than expected, plus he loved them.

6 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Strawberries for V-day”

  1. Philo April 6, 2015 at 4:18 pm #

    Wow this is a great idea, I know this only with dark chocolate, to use pink one, is cool! would be a great eyecatcher also on every Dessert buffet, I think. Thanks for this Inspiration, and if you’d like to try baking French Macarons, I would be happy if you try the recipe from my blog: http://houseofphilo.blogspot.de/2015/03/macarons-zu-ostern.html
    Have a nice day, Philo

  2. Nouveau Yuppie Beauty February 12, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

    Wow, those look amazing! Way to give the diy a shot!

  3. Brittany February 12, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    These turned out great. YUMMOO!

    • burgesslinds February 12, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

      Thanks Brittany,
      They were a lot of fun to make!

Leave a Reply

