Mango-Pineapple Kale Green Smoothie & Noodles & Co Pesto Cavatappi Copycat Recipe

14 Feb

Now this is a pretty, green smoothie…

Mango-Pineapple Kale Green Smoothie

It’s always so sad when your smoothie ends up that ugly brown color, even if it’s delicious, it still makes me a little sad.

Lately I’ve just been winging my smoothies, but here is a rough estimate, you can’t really go wrong. 

Mango-Pineapple Kale Smoothie

  • 2 cups of frozen mango
  • 1 cup on frozen pineapple
  • 3 big scoops of Fage greek yogurt
  • 4 good size kale leaves ( stems removed )
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 2 tsp flaxseed

verdict: delicious and nutritious. 

Have I mentioned I love my Ninja 1500 Mega Kitchen System? It whips everything up so nicely and makes awesome smoothies. I admit, I haven’t tried the dough maker or anything else for that matter, besides basil pesto (recipe below). I do REALLY want a juicer, though.

Today was Valentine’s Day, but also my mom’s birthday. After Christmas I went to Michael’s and got a bunch of pretty, wired ribbon (the craft stores put the majority of their holiday ribbon 75% off after Christmas, awesome deal, and truthfully, half of it isn’t even strictly holiday.)

I’m also a huge fan of the packaging paper (also found it at Michael’s in an actual wrapping paper form) because it’s so simple and you can decorate it and put the focus on the ribbons and accessories.

Wrapping with packaging paper and wired ribbonGift Wrapping Presents with Packaging Paper

I’d made basil pesto one time previously, and i made it really chunky and garlicy, not so good. So I gave it another shot…

  • 2 cups basil leaves
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 parmesan cheese

threw it all in my Ninja food processor…

Basil Pesto in the Ninja 1500 Mega Kitchen Blender

and stored it in a mason jar until I prepared dinner the next day…
Homemade Basil Pesto

So, this is what I decided to make with the basil pesto, which was also a complete shot in the dark, but I was very impressed.

The main goal of this meal was a copycat of the Noodles and Co Pesto Cavatappi, but with my own take on it. I didn’t have the swirly noodles, so I went with whole wheat Barilla penne..

Noodles & Co Pesto Cavatappi Copycat Recipe

  • 3/4 box noodles (the actual recipe calls for cavatappi noodles, hence the name)
  • 1 cup of sun dried tomatos
  • 8 ounces sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup cream (I used Fage Greek Yogurt)
  • 7 oz. pesto (recipe above, or you can buy your own)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • shredded parmesan cheese

1. Cook pasta al dente as directed on box.
2. While pasta is cooking, saute the garlic and mushrooms in a tablespoon of EVOO. 
3. Add the wine to the garlic and mushrooms and reduce for 2 minutes. Then add the cream to the mushrooms and reduce for another 1-2 minutes. Add the pesto and stir well.
4. Drain pasta and add to the pesto mixture. Stir, Stir, Stir, and let is sit for a few to continue soaking up the liquids
5. Serve and add any additional parmesan cheese

Noodles & Co Pesto Cavatappi Copycat Recipe

Next time I may try adding tofu or getting fancy. I made awesome vegetarian lasagna roll-ups last night, but was so excited to eat them I completely forgot to document.

2 Responses to “Mango-Pineapple Kale Green Smoothie & Noodles & Co Pesto Cavatappi Copycat Recipe”

  1. Brittany February 20, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

    Yummmm that pesto looks sooo good on that pasta!

  2. now at home mom February 15, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    I’m sure this time the basil pesto tasted great! Love the gift wrapping, I got tons of ribbons from Michael’s too, 2 weekend’s ago and washi tape too! They are having lots of 50% off

Leave a Reply

