Sweet Potato Blend Juice Recipe + Benefits

6 Mar

So I’ve had my juicer for a few weeks now, and I’m slowly trying to work my way up to a cleanse. I’m drinking at least one juice (generally green) a day, sometimes two or three. Today was my first attempt at having a juice in place of my dinner. I wanted pasta soooo bad, but I decided upon a ‘pretty’ juice, rather than a drab green/brown juice.

Sweet Potato Juice Blend

Sweet Potato Blend Juice Recipe

Sweet Potato, you ask? I was skeptical, but figured I had to give it a shot, because I wanted a radient colored juice (and had one to get rid of)

Juicing Recipe: Sweet Potato | Carrot | Grapefruit | Pineapple

  • 1/4 Pineapple (leftover from the delicious Pineapple-Strawberry Juice I made yesterday)
  • 4 carrots (washed, dirty end chopped off)
  • grapefruit (or oranges)
  • large sweet potato (peeled)

BENEFITS

  • Sweet potatoes are extremely rich in carotenes and an excellent source of vitamins C, B2, B6, E and biotin (B7). They are very low is sugar and a good blood regulator.

    They provide good amounts of manganese, folate (folic acid), copper and iron.  It also has pantothenic acid and is rich in dietary fiber.

  • Carrots are known for beta carotene which gives the body Vitamin A, B Vitamins, Vitamin E and many minerals. The health benefits of drinking carrot juice are thought to be good prenatal health, eyesight, bones and teeth, liver and nails, skin and hair as well as helping in cancer prevention.Drinking carrot juice cleanses and restores the liver. It is effective at reducing mucous from your ears, nose and throat, and clearing away phlegm that can interfere with breathing, according to juicing-for-health.com. Sinusitis, nasal congestion and other similar problems can all be helped by drinking carrot juice.
  • Grapefruit doesn’t only contain vitamin C which is commonly known to be protective against cold or flu.  It is not just one nutrient that helps prevent a certain disease, but rather the combination of several ingredients in it that does the trick.  This is the kind of nutritional power that we can find only in the way God makes our natural food.This juicy fruit contains citric acid, natural sugars, essential oils like limonene, pinene and citral.  It has high amounts of vitamin C, and smaller amounts of vitamin A, B complex, E and K. 

    In the mineral department, larger amounts of calcium, folic acid, phosphorus, and potassium are found.  The nutritive phytonutrients of this voluptuous fruit¾liminoids, flavonoids, lycopene and glucarates help fight cancer and various diseases. (Juicing-for-health.com)

  • Pineapple contains vitamin C, Thiamine, vitamin B6, Manganese, Potassium, and Magnesium. You can gain as much as 75% of the daily recommended allowance of vitamin C which is vital to increasing the body’s natural resistance to disease and in promoting cell growth and development which aids tissue repair

    Pineapples also contain bromelain, a proteolytic enzyme that helps us to digest protein, prevent blood clot formation, and aids us as ananti-inflammatory to help reduce swelling, arthritis, and numerous other issues. (source)

Juicing carrots in the Omega Juicer

I love juicing carrots, they are such a bright, uplifting color (does that make me weird?)
I was too excited when I got the juicer, that I didn’t bother to read the directions. After a few juices, I realized they had more pulp than I would assume they should, so I looked through my box and found this (below) handy little strainer thing you put above the juice bowl. It double strains all of the pulp, so happy I found that, one day I’ll actually read the directions. I still haven’t even read the directions to my Ninja >_<

Omega JuicerSweet Potato Blend Juice Recipe

And now I’m just enjoying this Beta Ceratine packed juice. yum.

Sweet Potato Blend Juice Recipe

I also stocked up on a lot of greens.. This morning I had

  • cucumber
  • carrots
  • kale
  • spinach
  • lemon
  • apple

I wasn’t expecting much, but it was really good. I haven’t had a terrible juice yet, and for the most part I just dump stuff into the juicer.

Green Juice Recipes

12 Responses to “Sweet Potato Blend Juice Recipe + Benefits”

  1. now at home mom March 7, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Oh! this looks good! 🙂 too bad, I don’t have a juicer!

    • burgesslinds March 7, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      Its a little more work, but you can always blend any juicing recipe, then run it through a cheesecloth or tiny strainer, and it’s just like a juice!

      What is your name, by the way? So i dont have to call ‘you now at home’ 😉

  2. missgraysouffle March 7, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    How did you find the sweet potato? Did much juice come out?

    • burgesslinds March 7, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      Hi MissGraySouffle, I just found sweet potatoes at a local grocery store, they juice really well, especially if you have a good juicer that can really suck all the juice out and only extract the dry parts. Juicing sweet potatoes has a ton of benefits and creates a really smooth, thicker texture to your juice.

      • missgraysouffle March 7, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

        Hi, thanks for your reply! Yes I eat them often just meant how did you find them in terms of juicing, I wouldn’t have thought much juice would come out. I’ll be trying one in my juice this morning. I also really enjoy beetroot in my juice 🙂

        • burgesslinds March 8, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

          whoops! they actually juiced quite well, I’m glad I tried them because they opened up a whole new slew of recipes (like you can ever really run out)

          I love adding beets to my juice too, mostly for the nutritional benefits (they don’t taste too bad either) My nutrition class teacher said, if you’re going to eat one fruit or vegetable, make it beets. They are sooo good for you, and basically coat all your intestines to help everything else slide through.

  3. Storm March 7, 2013 at 12:28 am #

    I love green juices!

    • burgesslinds March 7, 2013 at 12:46 am #

      What is your favorite green juice recipe? I’m always looking to try new ones!

      • Storm March 7, 2013 at 12:49 am #

        I just do a basic 4 or 5 kale leaves, an apple, and a cucumber. Sometimes I through in lemon and celery, but I do the first three if I am in a rush. Tastes refreshing and gives you a ton of energy.

        • burgesslinds March 7, 2013 at 11:05 am #

          can’t go wrong with a good green juice. I’ve yet to add celery to any of my juices, because its such a flavor hog and not my favorite taste, but I’ll make it a point to try that sometime. Thanks for the input!

          • carrieregan23 March 7, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

            I agree! I love celery on its own but in my juice it seems to be the dominant flavor. Have you guys tried ginger in your juices? I tried it the other day in a green juice and it was pretty good. Hmmm I wonder how it would taste with carrots? Like carrot ginger soup…only ijuice form? lol

            • burgesslinds March 8, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

              I do throw ginger in every once in awhile, but I always finish my juice and realize I forgot to throw it in. How do you store your ginger? I’ve heard everything from freezer to countertop, so I’m unsure of the best route.
              I bet carrot ginger with a few other small ingredients would be pretty good, I’ll have to test it out!

Leave a Reply

